Google Code Search is Live

Google have launched a new tool, Code Search that can be used to find stuff in publicly available source code. A quick search on has_many reveals that the search giant has already indexed RubyForge, which could make example code much easier to find for those of us learning Ruby and Rails.

The advanced code search even allows searching using regular expressions, limiting searching to a given language or open source licence, and other options.

SecurityFocus have published an article warning that this tool may make it easier to find poorly written and vulnerable code. While that may be the case, the benefits of a more efficient code search tool will hopefully outweigh these concerns.

8 Responses to Google Code Search is Live

  1. Jacob says:

    I used to be suggested this blog via my cousin. I’m no longer certain whether this publish is written through him as no one else realize such detailed about my trouble. You’re
    amazing! Thanks!

  2. http://.com/ says:

    I generally do not comment, but your article is so excellent I needed
    to. It even gave me a wonderful idea for my site (same niche market as this one; a sub niche
    really). I’m going to send you a link to it when I am done, if you want of course.

  3. Leslie says:

    Hey! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group?

    There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Cheers

  4. Amazing, I really liked this article. Kudos to you for
    an interesting read. Quick question though; how do you handle
    your articles? Do you do it yourself or is there a plug in of
    some kind I need to obtain? I am awful at managing and the way you’ve organized your blog tends to make mine seem like a amateur site. Thanks!

  5. Asking questions are really fastidious thing
    if you are not understanding something entirely, except this paragraph presents
    fastidious understanding even.

  6. Reginald says:

    I’m really impressed along with your writing talents along with with all the structure for your weblog. Are these claims a paid theme or did you customize it on your own? Anyway stay up the nice quality writing, it’s uncommon to look a great blog just like it today..

  7. Fantastic goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely magnificent. I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what
    you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take
    care of to keep it sensible. I cant wait to read much more from you.

    This is really a great website.

  8. DFW Limo says:

    If some one wishes to be updated with newest technologies afterward he must be pay a quick visit this web page and be up to date every
    day.

Leave a Reply

